Friday, June 30, 2017

Book Review: Love,Murder and Mayhem - Cosmic Tales of the Heart Gone Deadly Wrong Edited by Russ Colchamiro

Introduction
  • ISBN: 9780998364117
  • Genre: Fiction/ Sci-fi / Romance
  • Publishers: Crazy 8 Publishers
  • Price: $4.98/-  ( I got the book for review from the b00k r3vi3ws)
Love science fiction stories that all include elements of Love, Murder & Mayhem? Then welcome to the latest anthology from Crazy 8 Press! This amazing collection from 15 all-star authors will delight you with superhero and supervillain stories. AI, off-world, and space cruiser stories. We’ve also got private eyes, sleep surrogates, time travel, an aliens/monsters mash-up and … one DuckBob! With tales ranging from wild and wacky, dark and gritty, to heartbreaking and fun, take the deadly leap with authors Meriah Crawford, Paige Daniels, Peter David, Mary Fan, Michael Jan Friedman, Robert Greenberger, Glenn Hauman Paul Kupperberg, Karissa Laurel, Kelly Meding, Aaron Rosenberg, Hildy Silverman, Lois Spangler, Patrick Thomas, and editor Russ Colchamiro. You’ll never look at Love, Murder & Mayhem the same way again … and that’s just the way we like it.

Behind the Book

Source: Goodreads.com

About the Author

Russ Colchamiro is the author of the rollicking space adventure Crossline, the hilarious scifi backpacking comedy Finders Keepers, and the outrageous sequel, Genius de Milo, all with Crazy 8 Press. For fans of Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Christopher Moore, and Josh Whedon.

Russ lives in West Orange, NJ, with his wife, two children, and crazy dog, Simon, who may in fact be an alien himself. Russ is now at work on the final book in the Finders Keepers trilogy.

As a matter of full disclosure, readers should not be surprised if Russ spontaneously teleports in a blast of white light followed by screaming fluorescent color and the feeling of being sucked through a tornado. It’s just how he gets around — windier than the bus, for sure, but much quicker.

For more on Genius de Milo and Russ’ other wacky tales, you can visit www.russcolchamiro.com, follow him on Twitter @AuthorDudeRuss, and ‘like’ his Facebook author page www.facebook.com/RussColchamiroAuthor. Russ encourages you to email him at authorduderuss@gmail.com

Me thinks

This book is such an interesting combination of sci-fi with romance that for a moment I was awestruck trying to imagine love, murder and mayhem with sci-fi as the backdrop. But believe me when I say, the authors have done such an amazing job at keeping a fine balance between the two genres and doing perfect justice to both. I honestly confess here, that was something I was skeptical about when I started reading it.

In each of these 15 stories there is not a single plot which feels out of place or disconnected from the background. With interesting and quirky characters, these stories look so plausible and believable that after a point I started feeling I also exist in a futuristic world where all this happening around me for real. This speaks volumes about the narrative and story telling of each writer.

I would also like to mention the work of the editor, as according to me an editor plays a very important role in an anthology. From deciding the right stories, to their sequence and positioning to set a tone for the reader and ofcourse ensuring it is all error free , the editor deserves applauds.

Though it is a sci-fi book, the language isn't such that makes it a tedious read. Keeping in mind the backdrop of romance, the language is lucid and highly enjoyable for a reader. I thoroughly enjoyed reading each and every story and it is difficult to pick just one as my favourite as each one of them were brilliant.

I would strongly recommend this book to all sci-fi and romance lovers who are looking for something different to read, this anthology is the exact answer to your search. Don't miss it!

Foodie Verdict

This book is like spinach and corn sandwich - perfect companion on a rainy stormy night!
SourceSandwich and Salad