Wednesday, June 01, 2016

Book Review: My Last Love Story by Falguni Kothari




Introduction
  • ISIN: B01E9P90OS
  • Genre: Fiction / Romance
  • Publishers: Amazon
  • Price: Rs. 249/- (I got this book from b00k r3vi3ws for a review)
Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes’s, Me Before You, My Last Love Story is a heartbreaking and poignant tale about the complexities of trauma and whether love can right a wrong.

***
I, Simeen Desai, am tired of making lemonade with the lemons life has handed me.

Love is meant to heal wounds.
Love was meant to make my world sparkle and spin.
Love has ripped my life apart and shattered my soul.

I love my husband, and he loves me.
But Nirvaan is dying.
I love my husband. I want to make him happy.
But he is asking for the impossible.

I don’t want a baby.
I don’t want to make nice with Zayaan.
I don’t want another chance at another love story.


***WARNING***
Weepers, keep tissues handy.


Behind the book


About the author

Falguni Kothari is a New York-based hybrid author, and an amateur Latin and Ballroom dance silver medalist with a semi-professional background in Indian Classical dance. She writes in a variety of genres sewn together by the colorful and cultural threads of her South Asian heritage and expat experiences. When not writing or dancing, she fools around on all manner of social media and loves to connect with readers.
My Last Love Story is her fourth novel.


Me thinks

Having read Falguni Kothari's previous works, this book was something I was really looking forward to. Her previous romantic novel "It's your move, wordfreak" had me in daze for days as all I could see around was the pink hue of love surrounding me. Such is the power of the author!

In this book she has added lot of emotions to an already romantic love story making it one touching, heart warming and poignant story. It is story of friendship, love, betrayal, faith and most importantly hope. I like the way she has played around with so many emotions and managed to weave an intricate web to keep a reader engrossed till the last word.

Told from the perspective of Simeen Desai this is the story of her life. You get to witness all the chaos she experiences closely as you go on a roller coaster ride with the author's words. Every scene and every moment of her life is experienced by you as if she is your close friend and you are witnessing all this first hand. By the end of the book you begin to feel as if Simeen was a long lost friend for whom your heart keeps praying.The beauty of the story is in the ending and ofcourse in the narration as the author has very carefully handled some very delicate subjects in the story. The characters are so real to life that you cannot help but feel their pain.

What took my by surprise was the ending. I am perhaps so used to the usual happily-ever-after endings that I was expecting the same in this love story. But that is where the author scores a brownie point. She managed to not only make an ending which takes the reader by surprise but also redefines happily ever after with her this story.

A strongly recommended read for all romance lovers, don't miss this one!

Foodie Verdict

This book is like Veg Kathi roll - crispy, crunchy, delicious and filling (Read: It will fill your heart with abundant love!)
Source: indianexpress.com



1 comment:

  1. Reading this book currently (Though I am very slow due to my own book). I liked the cover, and yes, narration is crisp. As I have just started (4 chapters), it seems slow, and I personally don't the frequent usage of (Hindi) abuse. It disturbs the image of characters. But, it's too early to say anything. Your review makes me intrigued. Maybe, I should enhance the pace :) If it is really something like Me Before You, then I am definitely going to do that!

    ReplyDelete

Words are all that this blog is made of ~ From me to you,
And words are all that I crave for ~From you to me!