Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Spotlight :The Last of the Firedrakes by Farah Oohmerbhoy



Book Details

No. of pages: 488 pages
Genre: Fantasy
Age: Young Adult
ASIN: B01131UDHE

A fantastic adventure story that will transport you to a dazzling world of myth and magic.

16-year-old Aurora Darlington is an orphan. Mistreated by her adopted family and bullied at school, she dreams of running away and being free. But when she is kidnapped and dragged through a portal into a magical world, suddenly her old life doesn’t seem so bad.

Avalonia is a dangerous land ruled by powerful mages and a cruel, selfish queen who will do anything to control all seven kingdoms—including killing anyone who stands in her way. Thrust headlong into this new, magical world, Aurora’s arrival sets plans in motion that threaten to destroy all she holds dear.

With the help of a young fae, a magical pegasus, and a handsome mage, Aurora journeys across Avalonia to learn the truth about her past and unleash the power within herself. Kingdoms collide as a complicated web of political intrigue and ancient magic lead Aurora to unravel a shocking secret that will change her life forever.

Buy from:  Amazon | Flipkart


Review Excerpts

"...the narrative components echo the classics; the Academy of Magic at Evolon could be Hogwarts, while the Shadow Guards are reminiscent of Tolkien's Ring Wraiths or Rowling's Dementors...a beautifully drawn fantasy world." - Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for fans of Harry Potter”- Alyson Serena Stone 

The Last of the Firedrakes is a wonderful book! It's STUNNING, in fact. I'm a firm lover of fantasy novels and this one did not disappoint me since it has everything I could have wished for - a diverse array of characters, magic, never-ending action and amazing world-building. It will satisfy anyone's need for a fantastical adventure!” - Melissa @ The Reader and the Chef

Five stars, HIGHLY recommended for plot and pacing, if you like Harry Potter, you'll like The Last of the Firedrakes, trust me!” - LilMar

About the author

For Farah Oomerbhoy, writing is a passion and reading her solace. She is a firm believer in the fantastic and magical, and often dreams of living in Narnia, Neverland, or the Enchanted Forest.

When she was pregnant with her first child ten years ago, a story popped into her head she could not ignore. “I was at my grandmother’s house, and as I looked at the image of a beautiful forest with a castle in the distance on a tapestry hanging on the wall, I imagined myself being whisked away into another world,” she said. It was at that moment the world of Avalonia, with its powerful mages and fae and the evil Queen Morgana, was born. Farah Oomerbhoy’s debut novel, The Last of the Firedrakes, was released in the summer of 2015.


Farah lives with her husband and three children in their family home in Mumbai, India. She has a Master’s degree in English Literature from the University of Mumbai. Her first novel is The Last of the Firedrakes, Book 1 of the Avalonia Chronicles.

  :Reach her at :


 Excerpt from the book: 
The Last of the Firedrakes by Farah Oomerbhoy

Chapter11 ~ Lessons in Magic

Today you will start lessons with me and learn to access your mage powers,” said Uncle Gabriel. “There are a few training exercises I want to start with, which will help you to access and channel your magic. I want you to have an open mind, and follow my instructions very carefully.”

I listened intently, breathlessly awaiting the secret I was so anxious to discover—how magic worked.
“You are still young and so far your powers have been diminished by the amulet, but if you have tapped into your fae magic already by mind bonding with thepegasus, that means that your powers are already manifesting,” Uncle Gabriel said.

He lit a candle and put it in front of me on the table.

“Now, our first lesson is going to be on concentration,” said Uncle Gabriel. “I want you to focus on this candle. Remove all other thoughts from your mind.”

I stared at the candle, my thoughts drifting in and out. Uncle Gabriel had said he was going to teach me to do magic. This was not magic; this was torture. My thoughts flickered back and forth like the flame on the tip of the candle. Finally I looked up.

“This is silly. Nothing is happening,” I said, getting frustrated.

“You are not concentrating,” Uncle Gabriel said, glancing up briefly up from his work. “Block out all other thoughts. If they come, push them away and keep focusing on the candle. Nothing else is of importance; your whole mind and concentration is on that candle.”

I tried again, but my thoughts wouldn’t leave me alone. Every time I looked up, Uncle Gabriel made me try again. He even changed the object of my concentration, from the candle to a smoothly polished stone, to a vase and back. I tried again and again, and every time it was the same, my thoughts came and went, flitting about in my mind, and my concentration was broken.

“Same time tomorrow, Aurora, and please practice. I expect you to concentrate on an object for measurably longer. Holding your concentration is one of the key aspects to working with your magic. You have to learn to channel your powers properly. If you can’t control your mind and will, then when you release your powers, they will be all over the place, and we don’t want that,” he said seriously.

If I have tempted you enough then what I am going to state further will surprise you even more.There is an amazing giveaway being held, you might just want to participate because if you are lucky enough you stand to win any of these lovely prizes:

3 signed copies of the book
One Amazon gift voucher worth Rs. 500/- 
One Amazon gift voucher worth Rs.250/-!

So wait no further click on the Rafflecopter to participate.

a Rafflecopter  giveaway









No comments:

Post a Comment

Words are all that this blog is made of ~ From me to you,
And words are all that I crave for ~From you to me!